Sentenced to be a Hero Ep 10 Review
The Demon Blight is getting more and more dangerous. It was bad enough that Xylo and the others had to keep fighting in suicide missions, but now they have to look over their soldiers to make sure they aren’t stabbed in the back. Even Kivia, who has been an ardent believer in their fight, is starting to see just how corrupt their cause is. And it’s starting to break her. In fact, I think that the events of this episode might end up being what pushes her over the edge and makes her crash out altogether. And it’s also making me regret looking up what happens on TV Tropes.
So, after losing Lideo following his escape from custody, Xylo and Kivia are back to square one. They have no clue who ordered the hit on Teoritta beyond it being a Coexister in the Human Kingdoms. And it’s starting to eat away at the two. Xylo has to keep telling Teoritta why she can’t go anywhere and deal with her being upset. Kivia, though? She is close to losing it. I could tell by her tone of voice and the dark circles under her eyes that the stress of what’s happening is really starting to get to her. Note how she reacted when she heard the name that Lideo gave: it was someone she knew or was aware of, but she’s unable to do anything about it…yet.
At any rate, Xylo and Teoritta are at least able to stick near the temple, where Kivia basks in the adulation of the locals, especially children. It’s nice to see her interact with people who look to be her age. But more importantly, some of the locals even talk positively about Xylo. That’s a good sign. Even if he’s a convicted criminal, his actions are showing people that he’s a hero in the traditional sense. And he gets another chance to prove that: the Demon Blight is back. This time, they’ve taken a tower overlooking most of the harbor, and the Hero Unit has to take it back. Alone. Obviously, Xylo isn’t having that, so he comes up with a strategy to make the Holy Knights intervene: lure the enemy to the ships in the harbor. The nobles and merchants won’t risk letting their livelihoods get smashed to pieces.
And it is at this point that we are introduced to the last member of Xylo’s unit: their artillery officer, Rhyno.
This Guy is Off, Even by our Standards
Now, everyone in Xylo’s unit is a certified weirdo. Dotta’s a kleptomaniac, Venetim’s a con man, Norgalle may or may not be delusional. Tatsuya is crazy, Tsav is a sociopath, and Jayce…he’s really into dragons. But even amongst all these weirdos, Rhyno stands out in a way that unsettles Teoritta. Unlike everyone else, he volunteered to be a hero. He willingly chose to be subjected to an eternal punishment of death and resurrection. No one does that unless they have some screws loose!
Then there’s also the way he regards other people; or rather, his lack of. He is willing to risk collateral damage if it means getting the job done and wiping the demons out. While war is inevitably going to lead to buildings being destroyed and innocent people hurt, that doesn’t mean that it should be encouraged. All of this rubs everyone else the wrong way, to the point where I think Tsav looks like a saint in comparison. The best thing that he’s got going for him is that he’s good at his job. And he’s also got this cool armor that looks like a magical version of Iron Man meets Japanese mecha.
Why did I spoil Myself?
Regardless, though, Xylo’s plan appears to work. They’re able to tie up the demons, and Venetim was able to think ahead and lock down the sewers. But then things go sideways yet again. The demons start carrying staves and using them on the heroes. Boojum tears through the Holy Knights in the sewers. And worst of all, the final moments of the episode have Kivia reach a major epiphany, and that someone she thought she could trust might be a traitor to humanity. And we only have two episodes left in the season, so there is a lot to go through!
Man, next week is going to be crazy. Really hoping that things don’t end badly for anyone, because I don’t want to wait for a second season that might not come.
I Give “Sentence: Aid in Evacuation of Ioff Cheg Port 1” a 3/5
from D&A Anime Blog https://ift.tt/HSAyPfL
https://ift.tt/IksYX87
Thanks for reading: Rhyno is…So Weird, Sorry, my English is bad:)
More: